Education Authority
Education Authority
Home > About Us > Latest News > Community Planning Partnership Agreement Launched
Community Planning Partnership Agreement Launched

Community Planning Partnership Agreement Launched

The Strategic Community Planning Partnership Agreement for Lisburn and Castlereagh has been officially launched.

The Chairman of the Partnership, Alderman William Leathem and Chief Executive, Dr Theresa Donaldson, led the signing of the Community Partnership Agreement at a Meeting of the Partnership this week.

The agreement sets out the commitment for all the partners to deliver community planning in Lisburn and Castlereagh.

Alderman William Leathem, said: “We have hosted various community meetings, carried out local research and organised public events over the last few months.  The feedback and insights we have achieved will now be used to shape the delivery of a Community Plan in the local community.

“Information and feedback includes the local Lisburn and Castlereagh economy, the environment, quality of life, community safety, society, infrastructure and local services.  We also have detailed information on what our residents like and don’t like; what is good and what could be improved.  The Partnership will now need to look to the next steps as a collective group.

Chief Executive, Dr Theresa Donaldson, said: “There is a significant amount of work to be done and it is important that the Community Planning Partnership works together to show commitment and to bring individual areas of expertise to the table as we look to deliver locally tailored services in the community for the well-being of residents.”

The agreement was also signed by the statutory and non-statutory partners at the meeting.  

Below photograph : EA Education Director, John Collings at the launch of the Strategic Community Planning Partnership Agreement 




The Education and Library Boards (ELBs) were dissolved on 31 March 2015. The Education Authority was established on 01 April 2015 and is now responsible for all of the operational functions previously carried out by the five ELBs in accordance with the Education Orders.

40 Academy Street, Belfast, BT1 2NQ