Education Authority
Education Authority
Home > About Us > Latest News > Rathcoole PS receives prestigious Boxall Award
Rathcoole PS receives prestigious Boxall Award

Rathcoole PS receives prestigious Boxall Award

Rathcoole Primary School became the fifth primary school in Northern Ireland to receive a Marjorie Boxall Quality Mark Award for nurture provision.

The North Belfast school was presented with the award by Education Minister Peter Weir.

“Receipt of the award requires that the school’s Nurture Group is operating to the highest possible standards but also looks closely at how nurturing principles are being applied across the school. So while the Nurture Group can remain focused on those children most in need of its support, every pupil can benefit,” said the Minister.

Awarded by the UK national accrediting body, the Nurture Group Network, the award recognises high quality nurture provision in the school. Nurture groups are small, structured teaching groups for pupils showing signs of behavioural, social or emotional difficulties, particularly those who are experiencing disruption or distress outside of school.

“Receiving this award demonstrates Rathcoole Primary School’s commitment to the care and nurture of all pupils and how well it is helping them through the early years of school,” the Minister said.

“This award is testament to the hard-work and commitment of the school to support not just those children who have come through the nurture group but all of its pupils.”


The Education and Library Boards (ELBs) were dissolved on 31 March 2015. The Education Authority was established on 01 April 2015 and is now responsible for all of the operational functions previously carried out by the five ELBs in accordance with the Education Orders.

40 Academy Street, Belfast, BT1 2NQ