EA Youth Service Recognises Contribution of Volunteers

Thursday, 13th June 2019

The Education Authority’s Youth Service has recognised the contribution of over 270 volunteers at two celebration events at the Guildhall, City of Derry and Titanic, Belfast.

Volunteer Recognition Awards - Guildhall

Celebrating volunteering excellence, the Volunteer Recognition and Celebration events also recognised the contribution of over 20,000 volunteers who support the delivery of Youth Work across Northern Ireland.  

The events held during Volunteering Week, acknowledged 270 volunteers nominated by   Uniform, Youth Work Alliance and Regional Voluntary Sector, for their outstanding contribution to youth work and the lives of children and young people.           

Arlene Kee, EA Assistant Director of Youth Services said; “EA recognises the vital contribution volunteers make in supporting the delivery of our youth service. These events help to showcase and celebrate the contribution made by our volunteers as without them we wouldn’t be able to deliver on our commitments to children and young people.

“Volunteering is a very rewarding experience and provides an opportunity for volunteers and staff to build on their skills or pursue a professional career in youth work.”

Representatives from Volunteer Now, NICVA and Department of Education were also in attendance.

If anyone is interested in youth work volunteering or would like to find out more information contact; Narene Skeffington (Senior Youth Officer – Training) or email Narene.Skeffington@eani.org.uk or telephone (028) 9056 6430.



Full list of category winners as follows:

Guildhall, Derry/Londonderry - 6 June 2019



  1. Jacqueline Harrigan

Waterside Youth Centre

  1. Carol Mooney

Scouts NI

  1. Aisling McDaid

St Eithnes Youth Centre

  1. Tracey Braziel

Girl Guiding Ulster

  1. Kerry Lynn

Waveney Youth Club

  1. Duke of Edinburgh’s Award/Joint Initiative Award

Education Authority

  1. Odhran McLaughlin

EA Drop In at Ballycolman and Lisnalin Community Centre

  1. Ann McMonagle

Shantallow Youth Centre

  1. Kathleen Doherty

St Mary’s Youth Centre

  1. Jeanette Warke

Catheral Youth & Community Centre


Titanic Belfast – Monday 10 June 2019



  1. Anthony Arnold

Doyle Y.C.

  1. Colin Milla

Boys’ Brigade NI

  1. Gemma Kelly

Flare Ambassador

  1. Alison Devlin

Catholic Guides of Ireland

  1. Canice McShane

Taghnevan Youth Club

  1. Cecelia Taggart

Scouting Ireland

  1. Niamh Doyle

Newry Youth Office

  1. Erik Priess

Youth Action NI

  1. Adam Nicholson-Anderson

Parkhall Youth Centre

  1. Board of Directors

Include Youth

  1. Cowper Lynas

Outdoor Learning Service

  1. Front of House Crew

Youth Action NI

  1. Carl Curran

Lagmore Area Project/Colin Detached &

Colin Youth Development Centre

  1. Brian Gibson


St. Peter's Immaculata Youth Centre and St. John Vianney Youth Centre

  1. Harry Hawkins

Holy Trinity Youth Centre

Last updated: 17/06/2019